Peace and love

I have always thought that I was very aware of those around me and what struggles they might be experiencing. When I was a diagnosed with cancer, I realized that although I may be aware I certainly didn’t understand. I realized that it was those who have fought or were fighter something greater than themselves that truly understood and empathized. And it was those, who I found, provided me with the safest place to let go and the greatest of life’s lessons.

This week I lost my aunt, Aunt Sal,  and today we lay her to rest. She was a wife, mother, grandmother, sister, aunt, and fighter. I don’t think I recognized the latter until I was forced to reflect on her life and the relationship I had with her. She loved her family and was proud of each and every one for being strong enough to be themselves, something she may have envied instead of recognizing within herself. Whatever her struggles were, they didn’t get in the way of her heart. This past year, she chose me to include in her warmth. She taught me to look past others’ and myself’s image and draw on what I find within. She reminded me that it is not our “place” to judge others, as we were not perfect, but to love others.  As the date of my reconstruction approaches, I will draw on her love and try to accept the changes and embrace my scars as memories of strength snd courage.

After going through my own bout of self pity and sadness, this past year, I was awakened and lifted by those around me. Aunt Sal, the kindness and love you extended to me and my family will be remembered and cherished…just as your smile and LAUGH! May your soul be at peace and your heart reunited with Jeff, Grandma, and Poppy.

Peace and love.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Peace and love

  1. Evonne Shannon says:

    Beautiful Teresa. What a blessing to read before We go to the funeral, I am first up to speak and will take courage from what you wrote. Love you and the rest of your family.

  2. Evonne Shannon says:

    That was beautiful, Teresa. Just what I needed this morning. I am first up to speak at the funeral today. Love you.

  3. Maureen LeRoy says:

    Teresa….I was going to try to say something profound and insightful….but they are just words. Instead, I thought I would share something a dear friend recently wrote:

    “As I stare out my back window looking at the birds and trees, I see the damage that the ice storm has done. I see the scars and the breakage. Then I notice my reflection and I see my gray hair, the wrinkles around my eyes, the scar on my chin. My mind goes to the stretch marks on my stomach from the herniated belly button from carrying six beautiful children to birth and giving 5 to God before they could stretch the skin. All of a sudden I am overwhelmed and see how those scars are exactly what makes the trees so beautiful and me too. Thank you God, I needed that this morning.”

    You are one of God’s most caring and beautiful creations…and I now know that legacy comes from further back than just your parents – you have a long line of people that have taught you love and concern – and gave you your incredible strength!!

  4. Heather BIrd says:

    You’ve always been great at understanding others struggles, or at the very least trying to understand much more than most. And whether the understanding is there or not you’ve always been there for SO many. I’m so sorry for you and your family’s loss. And I’m sorry you aren’t able to be there today. Love you. Hugs.

Leave a comment